Penalties for Reckless Driving in Nevada
Statistics released by the Nevada Judiciary show that in 2012, a total of 7,233 new cases of reckless driving were brought to municipal, justice and district courts across the state of Nevada. It is a good idea to be familiar with exactly what is considered reckless driving and what penalties you could face if you are charged.
You can be charged with or found guilty of reckless driving in Nevada if you willfully disregard the safety of persons or property while driving, or drive in or organize illegal car racing on a public highway. You can also be arrested for reckless driving for failing to stop when signaled to pull over by police, or for colliding with another vehicle or bicycle while failing to obey various other traffic laws.
The offense of reckless driving is generally classified as a misdemeanor, except in serious cases, such as when your reckless driving leads to the death or serious injury of another person. The penalties for reckless driving depend on the nature of the offense and any previous charges you may have:
- For a first offense, the penalties range from a fine of between $250 and $1,000 to a fine and imprisonment in the county jail for up to six months.
- For a second offense, the penalties range from a fine of between $1,000 and $1,500 to a fine and imprisonment for up to six months.
- For a third offense or more, the penalties range from a fine of between $1,500 and $2,000 to a fine and imprisonment for up to six months.
- In all cases, your license is suspended for at least six months and — under some circumstances — up to two years.
- In certain cases of traffic violations and illegal racing, you may be sentenced to between 50 and 200 hours of mandatory community service, depending on previous convictions, in addition to a fine and imprisonment.
- In cases of illegal racing, your car is impounded for 15 days for a first offense and 30 days for each subsequent offense.
If you are facing a charge of reckless driving, a criminal law attorney may be able to reduce the penalties you face. Make an appointment with a tough Nevada criminal defense lawyer to give your defense a boost.